Domestiquer l’eau

By Julie Brugier

Project completed after a three-month immersion in an Indian eco-village (Tamil Nadu).

The project Domestiquer l’eau offers to reintroduce into the domestic space a second hand water cycle from the recycling of our wastewater. It leads us to rethink our activities according to the level of hygiene they require — washing dishes or floors does not require the same quality of water. How then can a new relationship with “waste” water be offered by the object?

Each water point in the habitat is redefined, as well as the links that they have between them, generating a new relationship to this resource. Sinks, and showers become filter receptacles, allowing wastewater to be recycled and stored instantly for later use in other, less “refined” activities. Each basin is equipped with two taps. One for drinking water, connected to the conventional network, and a second hand water tap connected to the storage tanks of the sinks. The second hand water can be redirected to the toilet flush to supply it. A small water point, directly discharged to the sewer, is intended for body toilets (to brush your teeth for example) — activities too filthy to consider recycling water. This new domestic network thus induces a more hierarchical water management in the habitat and establishes a less consumptive relationship to this resource.

Thus, Domestiquer l’eau seeks to rethink the objects of our everyday urban life in an eco-systemic and sustainable way, putting the individual in real contact with his resources (food, energy, etc.). It engages a re-reading of our domestic habits in order to appropriate the habitat as an economical and generous living space. It proposes a daily ecology through the reintroduction of domestic resource management, transforming the habitat into a place of production.

Domestiquer l’eau

Julie Brugier

Projet réalisé à l’issue d’une immersion de trois mois dans un éco-village indien (Tamil Nadu).

Le projet Domestiquer l’eau propose de réintroduire dans l’espace domestique un cycle d’eau seconde main provenant du recyclage de nos eaux usées. Il nous amène à repenser nos activités en fonction du niveau d’hygiène qu’elles exigent — faire la vaisselle ou laver le sol ne requièrent pas la même qualité d’eau. Comment alors offrir par l’objet, un nouveau rapport aux eaux « usées » ?

Chaque point d’eau dans l’habitat est redéfini, ainsi que les liens qu’ils entretiennent entre eux, générant un nouveau rapport à cette ressource. Les éviers, les lavabos et la douche deviennent des réceptacles filtrants, permettant de recycler et de stocker instantanément l’eau usée, afin de la réemployer plus tard pour à d’autres activités moins « raffinées ». Chaque vasque se voit équipée de deux robinets. Un premier pour l’eau potable, raccordé au réseau classique, et un robinet d’eau seconde main raccordé au cuves de stockage des éviers. Les eaux seconde main peuvent être redirigées vers la chasse d’eau, afin de l’alimenter. Un petit point d’eau, directement évacué vers les égouts, est prévu pour les toilettes corporelles (se brosser les dents par exemple) — activités trop salissantes pour que l’on envisage de recycler l’eau. Ce nouveau réseau domestique induit donc une gestion de l’eau plus hiérarchisée dans l’habitat et instaure un rapport moins consommateur à cette ressource.

Ainsi, Domestiquer l’eau cherche à repenser les objets de notre quotidien citadin de façon éco-systémique et pérenne, remettant l’individu en contact réel avec ses ressources (alimentaires, énergétiques, etc.). Il engage une relecture de nos habitudes domestiques afin de s’approprier l’habitat comme un espace de vie économe et généreux. Il propose une écologie du quotidien par la réintroduction de la gestion domestique des ressources, transformant l’habitat en lieu de production.