Hydrophily

By Dominique Peysson et Hsinli Wang
An interactive installation, 2013

Following the series of works “Les limbes” by Hsinli Wang (hsinliwang.com)

Surface treatment experiments with Daniel Beysens (ESPCI), Niki Baccile (Collège de France) and Christophe Gaumont. Work on interactive light with Annie Leuridan, Cyrille Henry and Omar Benyebka. As part of the DiiP/EnsadLab program (now Reflective Interaction) and ESPCI ParisTech.

Hydrophily is a work on the frontier between the ephemeral and the permanent. The delicate fog patterns can evolve very finely depending on the outside temperature. The size of the drops that constitute the very material of the drawing increases very slowly over time, day after day. The light from installed systems in the windows responds in an interactive way to the spectators’ presence.

The title of the artwork refers both to the plants that let their pollen run with the flow of water and to the specific physico-chemical properties of the installation. It is the stream of a river or the flow of a pond that will allow hydrophilic plants to pollen and thus to reproduce. Among them the Potamogeton, a rhizomatic aquatic plant that lives in lakes where rivers have little current. The fog patterns that appear on the basin walls represent different plants of these Potamogetons.

Hydrophily

Dominique Peysson et Hsinli Wang
Dispositif interactif, 2013

A la suite de la série d’œuvres « Les limbes » de Hsinli Wang (hsinliwang.com)

Expérimentations de traitement de surface avec Daniel Beysens (ESPCI), Niki Baccile (Collège de France) et Christophe Gaumont. Travail sur la lumière interactive avec Annie Leuridan, Cyrille Henry et Omar Benyebka. Dans le cadre du programme DiiP/EnsadLab (devenu Reflective Interaction) et de l’ESPCI ParisTech.

Hydrophily est un travail sur le fil entre l’éphémère et la permanence. Les dessins de buée, fragiles, peuvent évoluer très finement en fonction de la température extérieure. La taille des gouttes qui constituent la matière même du dessin augmente très lentement au cours du temps, jour après jour. La lumière des systèmes installés dans les vitrines répond de manière interactive à la présence des spectateurs.

Le titre de l’œuvre fait référence à la fois aux plantes qui laissent porter leur pollen au fil de l’eau et aux propriétés physico-chimiques spécifiques de l’installation. C’est le courant d’une rivière ou le flux d’un étang qui va permettre aux plantes hydrophiles de se polléniser, et donc de se reproduire. Parmi elles la Potamogeton, plante aquatique rhizomatique qui vit dans les lacs où les cours d’eau ayant peu de courant. Les dessins de buée qui apparaissent sur les parois des bassins représentent différents plants de ces Potamogetons.