memories memories

By Mathieu Merlet Briand
Multimedia device, 2016

Project developed with Anaïs Lerendu (curator), Didier Bouchon (engineer, EnsadLab) and Thierry Briand (engineer); completed with the support of the Reflective Interaction group of EnsadLab, research laboratory of École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs — Paris.

Centrally arranged on a blue background, two large perforated aluminium discs rotate relentlessly on themselves, like barrel organs. On one side, a screen seems to decipher the disc’s codes, while a large motionless hand stands on the other.

Through his research around the question of materiality in digitals, the study of binary systems, the language of the machine, the artist invites us to apprehend the digital universe in a sensitive way. This language is an encoding consisting of 0 and 1. Like a perforated card (1 corresponding to a hole, 0 to a blank), the disc contains in it the encoding of a song’s lyrics. A sensor detects the perforations of the disk to read the data, the screen simultaneously transcribes its deciphering and reveals the encoded information. Through this device, Mathieu Merlet-Briand seeks to make tangible and perceptible the material reality of digital data.

Exhibited at Espace Pierre Gilles de Gennes – Paris, 04.18 – 07.15, 2016.

memories memories

Mathieu Merlet Briand
Dispositif multimedia, 2016

Projet développé avec Anaïs Lerendu (curatrice), Didier Bouchon (ingénieur, EnsadLab) et Thierry Briand (ingénieur) ; réalisé avec le soutien du groupe Reflective Interaction d’EnsadLab, le laboratoire de recherche de l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs — Paris.

Disposés centralement sur fond bleu, deux larges disques en aluminium perforés tournent inlassablement sur eux-mêmes, tels des orgues de barbarie. D’un côté, un écran semble décrypter les codes du disque, tandis qu’une grande main immobile trône de l’autre.

À travers ses recherches autour de la question de la matérialité dans le digital, et de l’étude du système binaire, le langage de la machine, l’artiste nous propose d’appréhender l’univers numérique de façon sensible. Ce langage est un encodage constitué de 0 et de 1. À la manière d’une carte perforée (le 1 correspondant à un trou, le 0 à un blanc), le disque contient en lui l’encodage des paroles d’une chanson. Un capteur vient détecter les perforations du disque pour en lire les données, l’écran retranscrit simultanément son décryptage et en dévoile l’information encodée. Par ce dispositif, Mathieu Merlet-Briand cherche à rendre tangible et perceptible la réalité matérielle d’une donnée digitale.

Exposé dans les vitrines de l’Espace Pierre Gilles de Gennes – Paris, 18.04 – 15.07.2016.