Round table: Design en regards

From May 27 to May 28, 2019

Participants: Emanuele Quinz (Université Paris 8), Samuel Bianchini (Ecole nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs – Université PSL – Paris), David Bihanic (Université Paris 1), Manuelle Freire (Ecole Nationale des Arts Décoratifs, Paris)

Multiple design perspectives: Is there an evolution or transformation of research and practice?

Design has evolved while preserving its traditional approaches, yet has opened up to new practices, theoretical approaches and methodologies, particularly since the 2000s. As Buchanan explained in 1992, if design involves interventions at various levels from image to object, from space to system, it is now divided into many practices and approaches that need to be situated and interrogated.

Multiple practices. Thus, beyond the traditional practices of graphic, interior and product design, other practices have been developed such as: interaction design (Buxton, 2007; Norman, 2002), code design (Sanders and Stappers, 2008; Meroni et al., 2018), service design (Kimbell, 2014; Sangiorgi and Prendiville, 2017) and experience design (Shedroff, 2001; Hassenzahl, 2010), interface design and information design (Horn, 1999), design management (Borja de Mozota, 2018), design thinking (Brown, 2014) in corporate, political and administrative circles (Julier and Kimbell, 2016), policy design (27e Région, 2010; Kimbell, 2015).

Multiple conceptual and theoretical perspectives with the emergence, among others, of a reflection on responsibility (Papanek, 1972), on social innovation (Manzini, 2015), on activism through design (Fuad-Luke, 2009), on feminism (Sparke, 1995; Buckley, 2009), on decolonization (Escobar, 2018), on transitional design (Irwin, 2015), opening themselves new critical practices and research avenues.

Diversified methodologies resulting from an increasingly strong commitment to the human and social sciences, which is transforming the links between design, applied arts and artificial sciences (Simon, 2004). This approach leads to methods based on a subtle understanding of the cognitive, sociological and anthropological perspectives of human experience.

Design remains a transdisciplinary activity, but expands its practices, theories and methods, opening up new perspectives in both research and practice. By addressing the practical, theoretical and methodological issues, the question of the epistemological basis and the specificities of the design professions also arises. These new frontiers of design also encourage us to reflect on our deep identity.

This colloquium aims to reflect on these ongoing and future mutations. Several issues are discussed, although not exhaustively. Among them are: what are the relationships between traditional and renewed approaches of design? What are the impacts of these new practices, theories or approaches? Finally, can we still talk about design? Do we need to rethink the epistemological foundations of design? What are the future trends for design?

We would like to thank the institutions that contributed to the organization of this symposium, in particular the Design, Innovation and Humanism group and the School of Design at Laval University.

Table ronde : Design en regards

Du lundi 27 au mardi 28 mai 2019, de 09h00 à 10h45

Participants : Emanuele Quinz (Université Paris 8), Samuel Bianchini (École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs – Université PSL – Paris), David Bihanic (Université Paris 1), Manuelle Freire (École Nationale des Arts Décoratifs, Paris)

Perspectives plurielles du design : évolution ou transformation de la recherche et des pratiques ?

Évoluant tout en maintenant vivantes ses approches traditionnelles, le champ du design s’est ouvert à de nouvelles pratiques, à de nouvelles approches théoriques et à de nouvelles méthodologies au fil du temps et notamment depuis les années 2000. Si, comme Buchanan l’expliquait déjà en 1992, le design concerne des interventions à des échelles allant de l’image à l’objet, à l’espace et au système, il se décline maintenant en autant de pratiques, de modèles théoriques et de méthodologies qu’il convient de situer et d’interroger.

Des pratiques plurielles. Ainsi, au-delà des pratiques traditionnelles du design graphique, d’intérieur, de produits, se sont développées le design d’interactions (Buxton, 2007 ; Norman, 2002), le codesign (Sanders et Stappers, 2008 ; Meroni et autres, 2018), le design de service (Kimbell, 2014 ; Sangiorgi et Prendiville, 2017), le design d’expériences (Shedroff, 2001 ; Hassenzahl, 2010), le design d’interfaces et le design d’information (Horn, 1999), le design management (Borja de Mozota, 2018), le design thinking (Brown, 2014) dans les milieux des sociétés, politiques et administratifs (Julier et Kimbell, 2016), le design de politiques (27e Région, 2010 ; Kimbell, 2015).

Des perspectives conceptuelles et théoriques multiples avec l’apparition, entre autres, d’une réflexion sur la responsabilité (Papanek, 1972), sur l’innovation sociale (Manzini, 2015), sur l’activisme par le design (Fuad-Luke, 2009), sur le féminisme (Sparke, 1995; Buckley, 2009), sur la décolonisation (Escobar, 2018), sur le design de transition (Irwin, 2015), ouvrant elles-mêmes de nouvelles pratiques critiques et avenues de recherche.

Des méthodologies diversifiées issues d’un ancrage de plus en plus affirmé dans les sciences humaines et sociales, qui tend à transformer les liens du design avec les arts appliqués et les sciences de l’artificiel (Simon, 2004). Cet ancrage amène des méthodes reposant sur une compréhension fine des perspectives cognitives, sociologiques et anthropologiques de l’expérience humaine.

Le design demeure l’activité transdisciplinaire qu’il était déjà, mais il s’étend sur ses pratiques, ses théories, ses méthodes, ouvrant alors de toutes nouvelles perspectives tant en matière de recherche que de pratique. En touchant aux enjeux pratiques, théoriques et méthodologiques, c’est finalement également la question de l’assise épistémologique et des spécificités des métiers du design qui se pose. Ces nouvelles frontières du design poussent donc également à réfléchir sur son identité profonde.

Ce colloque vise à réfléchir à ces mutations en cours et à venir. Plusieurs questions y sont traitées, de manière non exhaustive. En voici quelques-unes : quelles relations entre les approches traditionnelles et renouvelées du design ? Quels impacts ont ces nouvelles pratiques, théories ou approches ? En s’étendant de la sorte, peut-on encore parler de design ? Faut-il repenser les assises épistémologiques du design ? Quelles sont les tendances futures pour le design ?

Nous remercions les institutions ayant contribué à l’organisation de ce colloque, notamment le groupe Design, innovations et humanismes ainsi que l’École de design de l’Université Laval.