Workshop: Behavioral Matter, Centre Pompidou

 


a multi-disciplinary and international research-creation workshop to explore through practice, in a public setting, the notion of “behavior”

Forum 0 * Centre Pompidou, Paris * 11am-7pm
March 15-16-17, 2019

In dialogue with the exhibition La Fabrique du vivant, an international research-creation workshop will take place at the heart of the Pompidou Center to explore the notion of “behavior” through practice and from a radically multidisciplinary approach. Whether that notion emerges from living, artificial, or hybrid systems, it is fundamentally dynamic: it can only be understood in action and is defined, in particular, by the quality of the movements that embody it. At the very origins of cybernetics, this complex and polysemic notion is more relevant than ever, and forces us to overcome the walls between disciplines as well as many dualities: human/non-human, natural/artificial, living/inert, reason/feeling, knowledge/experience, induction/deduction, endogenous/exogenous…

The singular approach of the Behavioral Matter workshop aims to question and test the notion of behavior in relation to matter and materials, objects and techniques, as well as to living or semi-living systems. With a non-anthropocentric approach, we turn our attention to the agentivity of matter, materials, and systems (both natural and artificial), with the goal to test and open perspectives for developing works of art and design that integrate ecosystem and ecological requirements.

The workshop format is our way to renew the conditions in which creation takes place and is exhibited: reflection thus emerges through practice and in action. A large number of international researchers and students coming from the natural and social sciences, engineering, and the humanities, as well as from art and design, work side-by-side with creators as well as with the public. The core method is to experiment at the crossroads of art, design, and science, in an open exchange in the public arena. The approach is fundamentally about cooperation and involves rethinking relationships among humans, non-humans, and environments. It seeks to create by taking inspiration from the living, by composing with living or partially living systems or organisms.

For three days (March 15, 16, and 17), over 70 artists, designers, researchers, student-researchers, students, and engineers from many different countries (Germany, Australia, Canada, Spain, the United States, France, Italy, Great Britain…) work together in the Forum: the main lobby of the Pompidou Center. Towards the end of the third day, participants give a public account of their work, of the collective reflections that emerge, as well as of any resulting productions.

In order to include all these actors, and to facilitate collaboration, the workshop is organized in twelve clusters. Each cluster is proposed by a small team whose members establish the material and conceptual conditions that allow for the reflexive practice that is paramount to research-creation.

CREDITS: This workshop, created and produced with the Centre Pompidou in the framework of the exhibition La Fabrique du Vivant (Mutations/Créations 3), stems from the Behavioral Matter project developed by the Reflective Interaction group of EnsadLab (the research lab of the École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs – EnsAD, Université PSL, Paris) in partnership with the cluster “Matters of Activity. Image Space Material” from the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. It is supported by the Chaire Arts & Sciences of the École Polytechnique, the École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs – PSL, and of the Fondation Daniel and Nina Carasso, and by the PERSPEKTIVE fund for contemporary art & architecture (an initiative of the Bureau des arts plastiques de l’Institut français, supported by the Ministry of Culture and the Goethe Institute).

Over 70 participants come from École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs, Université Paris Sciences et Lettres [FR], École nationale supérieure de création industrielle – Les Ateliers [FR], École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris, Université Paris Sciences et Lettres [FR], École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, the Institute for Research and Coordination in Acoustics/Music [FR], École polytechnique [FR], The Royal College of Art of London [UK], Université Paris Sciences et Lettres [FR], Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin [DE], the Max Planck Institute for Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam [DE], Politecnico de Turin [IT], The University of Maine [US], Ésad TALM – Le Mans [FR], Université de Cergy-Pontoise [FR], École nationale supérieure d’art de Dijon [FR], Université du Québec à Montréal – Hexagram [CA], Concordia University – Hexagram [CA], the University of A Coruña [SP], Falmouth University [UK], University of California, Davis [US], the French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission, [FR], and the Centre national de la recherche scientifique [FR].

General coordination: Samuel Bianchini and Manuelle Freire, in collaboration with Alexandra Fortoul, Patricia Ribault and Julie Sauret; Graphic design and signage: Bertrand Sandrez; Production manager: Lucile Vareilles; Mediation: Filipe Pais; Engineering: Didier Bouchon and Cécile Bucher; Assistant: Victoria Gombert.


 

The modules

1 → Tensegrity Robotics

Tensegrity is the architectural principle of balance of tensions. Like cable-stayed bridges, the Eiffel Tower and the human musculoskeletal system are structures that bend and skew according to external forces and shocks in order to better absorb them, and to better support a higher weight than their own. This workshop explores this principle to create a lightweight, flexible but robust and inexpensive robotic demo which coordination control of motor synergies, postural balance and dynamic movements are inspired by those of the spinal cord.
Coordination: Alexandre Pitti – Neurocybernetic Team – ETIS – CNRS 8051, Ensea, Université de Cergy-Pontoise [FR]

2 → Being Collective

Being Collective is a site to experiment new modalities of inter-species communication. Built on a previous experiment for an “Internet of parakeets and robots” in which the latter were able to read and draw emotional states from the birds’ singing, this second iteration of Being Collective includes other living species in their environment, namely those living around the Pompidou Center. How can we connect robots to pigeons? Can we read and express the emotions of plants? Can we design an Internet of animals? We explore these and other questions.
Coordination: Olivain Porry – EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group and Suricats Consulting [FR]

3 → Learning to move

The creation of autonomous behaviors for robotic agents is generally based either on direct programming or on the recording of predetermined movements. This workshop explores machine learning applied to the development of the behaviors of objects. Using an experimental and collaborative approach, participants set the agenda and collectively coordinate their efforts. The public can interact with prototypes capable of learning behaviors by reinforcement, or by imitation.
Coordination: Sofian Audry – School of Computing and Information Science, University of Maine [US]

4 → Biomaterials and Prosthetic Extensions

The concept of prostheses has evolved considerably in recent years with the advanced discoveries in the field of biomaterials. Beyond a mere additional apparatus to the human body, the prostheses made with biomaterials allow to intervene in the heart of the damaged
limb, or on its surface, and open way to consider a new type of augmented body, very different from the traditional notion of the exoskeleton. The question that interests us here is the transformation of the human body in order to invent new types of performances and sensitive experiences, with the goal of possibly initiating an interspecific physical dialogue through biomaterials.
Coordination: Marion Laval-Jeantet – AOO/Art Orienté Objet

5 → Additive Manufacturing

Bringing the dynamics of life into inanimate objects is the new realm of additive manufacturing. This novel mindset is also called “4D printing” and uses advanced materials that respond to the influence of external stimuli or energies, to program the actions of printed
object. The objective of this workshop is to fabricate/use/experiment with magnetic-responsive soft polymers to mimic the behavior of nature. 2D planar structures of magnetic-responsive soft polymers are used to exploit origami and kirigami folding and unfolding processes. Throughout the workshop, participants speculate on possible near-future applications of 4D printing: what real-life environmental changes could be used to animate the 4D object and how might it physically react in response?
Coordination: Giancarlo Rizza – École polytechnique [FR] and James Auger – EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR]

6 → Morphostructures: life-like behavior in material systems

Can we replicate aspects of living systems into a purely mechanical one? This is investigated in the Morphostructures module by experimenting with a self-morphing triangular lattice built with metal wires held together by plastic connectors. Some wires are glued to the connector (hence they are passive). Other wires can run through the connectors and be fed into the structure (hence they are active). Motors and sensors attached to the lattice allow for a range of movements, which can be explored to mimic or remind behaviors that are characteristic of living systems.
Coordination: Lorenzo Guiducci – Cluster “Matters of Activity” – Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin [DE]

7 → Growth & Paths

Growth and Paths consists of reiterating experiments by monitoring the printing of matter and controlling the printers’ strings of information. The experiments, performed on the matter itself or the machine, take place individually or concurrently to explore the behavior and production of form. This workshop aims to create shapes that take into consideration the morphology of natural shapes and structures, combined with generative computer tools in relation to the various states of the material during its production process.
Coordination: Antoine Desjardins – EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR] and Ianis Lallemand – Esad TALM – Le Mans and EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR]

8 → Mattering Matter: Invested thought and Informed growth

In this wet lab, participants can engage in the processes of growing kombucha and mycelium through different sensing technologies, in order to inform surface patterns and explore the foldability and collapsibility of these materials. The hands-on activities are tied to discussions about methods and ideas for establishing resilient, adaptive, creative, and ethical futures. Such speculative scenarios are aimed at cultivating an understanding of practice as taking place in the entanglements of the material, sensory, technological, human, and discursive relationships necessary to a renewed understanding of contemporary socioenvironmental issues.
Coordination: Alice Jarry – Concordia University – Hexagram [CA] and Alexandre Castonguay – Université du Québec à Montréal – Hexagram [CA]

9 → The Next Rice

Rice is the second most consumed cereal in the world. In laboratories, cereals are genetically modified to cope with climate change, population growth and consumer expectations that determine its texture, taste, and shape. In order to question the genetic improvement of rice and the artificialization of our consumption patterns, this module proposes a participatory culinary experience aimed at generating a 3D printed food product from sensory data.
Coordination: Alexia Venot – EnsadLab / Soft Matter group [FR]

10 → Sky, the behavior of fog

In a 2.5-metre channel, a layer of mist is animated by mobile and ephemeral, ghostly and mucilaginous forms. This substance, which materiality is uncertain, changes texture and moves in response to motions around the basin, to the distant caress of a hand. The space that this behavior deploys in the imagination is musical rather than choreographic: The mist behaves like a sound material made up of textures and rhythms. During the workshop, different behaviors, responses and musical writing can be explored according to the information provided by different distance, motion or heat sensors placed at each end of the fog channel.
Coordination: Jean Marc Chomaz, École polytechnique / Labofactory – Laurent Karst, ENSA Dijon / Labofactory – Filippo Fabbri, université Paris Sud / Labofactory – Greg Louis, compositeur, ESSS / Labofactory [FR]

11 → Data<>Materia

Considering the possibility of a phenomenology of data, this workshop investigates what the creative, artistic action of reification of data brings to their sensitive and perceptive reception, to their cognitive appreciation, to their intellectual evaluation or estimation — more generally, in the light of the different subjects, to the understanding of the complex realities of the modern world. To this end, this work group explores how a number of data “conversions” are translated into a wide range of forms and materials.
Coordination: David Bihanic, Université Paris 1 and EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR] and Jiayi Young – Department of Design, University of California, Davis [US]

12 → Structure under influence

This module explores ways of making and producing sustainable objects that can interact with their environment, inspired by living organisms. This involves investigating beyond isolated organisms or biological functions to delve into the complete study of the interactions between organisms ant their environment. By questioning the life cycles of different organisms, we address issues of growth, sustainability or degeneration of structures, and the impacts that these notions have on the way design projects unfold.
Coordination: Armand Behar, École nationale supérieure de création industrielle – Les Ateliers [FR]

RADIOBAL → a web radio for live coverage of the workshop

RADIOBAL is a web radio station run by and for students of the Beaux-Arts de Paris, that covers live the Behavioral Matter workshop. Entirely DIY, it can be easily deployed for various projects. Radiobal is a real-time feed that can serve as an ideal communication vehicle to report on the evolution of an ecosystem under construction. As it is constantly (un)building itself, it allows for a recursive analysis of its feedback loop. We therefore propose its free and open use for the public and the workshop participants. Only one address: radiobal.fr
Coordination: Vincent Rioux, École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris [FR]


Photos: Kiana Hubert-Low and Corentin Laplanche-Tsutsui

Workshop : Behavioral Matter, Centre Pompidou

 


un workshop de recherche-création pluridisciplinaire et international pour explorer la notion de « comportement » par la pratique et en public

Forum 0 * Centre Pompidou, Paris * 11h-19h
Vendredi 15, samedi 16 et dimanche 17 mars 2019

En dialogue avec l’exposition La Fabrique du vivant, un workshop international de recherche-création est mis en place, au cœur du Centre Pompidou, pour explorer, par la pratique et avec une approche radicalement pluridisciplinaire, la notion de « comportement ». Que celle-ci relève de systèmes vivants, artificiels ou hybrides, elle est fondamentalement dynamique : elle ne peut être comprise que dans l’action et se définit, en particulier, par la qualité des mouvements qui l’incarnent. Aux origines même de la cybernétique, cette notion complexe et polysémique est plus que jamais d’actualité et oblige à dépasser les frontières disciplinaires comme les dualités usuelles : humain/non-humain, naturel/artificiel, vivant/inerte, raison/sensible, connaissance/expérience, induction/déduction, endogène/exogène…

L’approche singulière du workshop Behavioral Matter vise à interroger et à expérimenter la notion de comportement relative à la matière et aux matériaux, aux objets et aux techniques, ainsi qu’aux systèmes vivants ou semi-vivants. En portant toute notre attention à l’agentivité de la matière et en travaillant avec des matériaux et des systèmes actifs naturels et artificiels, suivant une approche désanthropocentrée, nous souhaitons expérimenter et ouvrir des perspectives de développement pour des œuvres d’art et de design intégrant une exigence écosytémique et écologique.

Pour pouvoir envisager cette exploration selon un format adapté à son sujet, comme pour renouveler les situations dans lesquelles la création s’exerce et s’expose, c’est la forme du « workshop » qui a été retenue : là où le partage s’effectue dans l’action, dans la pratique et, à travers elle, la réflexivité. En provenance aussi bien des sciences de la nature, des sciences de l’ingénieur, des sciences humaines et sociales, que de l’art et du design, un grand nombre de chercheurs et d’étudiants de nombreuses nationalités sera impliqué aux côtés de créateurs mais, aussi, avec des publics. En effet, le partage d’expérience sera, cette fois, sous le régime de l’ouverture la plus large possible. Il s’agit désormais d’expérimenter au croisement des arts, du design et des sciences, à l’épreuve des publics. Cette démarche relève fondamentalement de la coopération et implique de repenser les relations entre humains, non-humains et environnements, cherchant à créer en s’inspirant du vivant ou avec le vivant, à composer avec des systèmes ou organismes vivants ou partiellement vivants.

Dans le hall principal du Centre Pompidou, son Forum, pendant trois jours, les 15, 16 et 17 mars prochains, venant de nombreux pays (Allemagne, Australie, Canada, Espagne, États-Unis, France, Italie, Grande-Bretagne, …) plus de 70 participants, artistes, designers, chercheurs, étudiants-chercheurs, étudiants et ingénieurs travaillent ensemble et en public. Au troisième jour, en fin de journée, toutes et tous peuvent compte publiquement de ces processus, des réflexions collectives qui en découlent, comme des premières productions qui en résultent.

Pour accueillir l’ensemble de ces acteurs et leur permettre de coopérer efficacement, le workshop est organisé en une douzaine de modules. Chaque module est proposé par une petite équipe qui pose des conditions matérielles et conceptuelles afin de provoquer la pratique en même temps que la réflexion. Chaque module est ainsi appareillé, pour stimuler des échanges basés sur le faire et sur la pratique réflexive si chère à la recherche-création.

CRÉDITS : Ce workshop, mis en place avec le Centre Pompidou, dans le cadre de l’exposition La Fabrique du Vivant (cycle Mutations/Créations 3), émane du projet Behavioral Matter développé par le groupe de recherche « Reflective Interaction » d’EnsadLab (le laboratoire de l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs – EnsAD, Université PSL, Paris) en partenariat avec le Cluster « Matters of Activity. Image Space Material » de la Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, avec le soutien de la Chaire Arts & Sciences de l’École polytechnique, de l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs – PSL et de la Fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso, et du fonds PERSPEKTIVE pour l’art contemporain & l’architecture (une initiative du Bureau des arts plastiques de l’Institut français, soutenu par le Ministère de la Culture et le Goethe Institut).

Plus de 70 chercheurs, étudiants-chercheurs, étudiants et ingénieurs sont impliqués. Ils viennent principalement de l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs, Université Paris Sciences et Lettres [FR], de l’École nationale supérieure de création industrielle – Les Ateliers [FR], de l’École nationale supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris, Université Paris Sciences et Lettres [FR], de l’École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay, de l’Institut de recherche et coordination acoustique / musique [FR], de l’École polytechnique [FR], du Royal College of Art de Londres [UK], Université Paris Sciences et Lettres [FR], de la Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin [DE], de l’Institut Max Planck pour les colloïdes et les interfaces de Potsdam [DE], de Politecnico de Turin [IT], de l’Université du Maine [US], de l’Ésad TALM – Le Mans [FR], de l’Université de Cergy-Pontoise [FR], de l’École nationale supérieure d’art de Dijon [FR], de l’Université du Québec à Montréal – Hexagram [CA], de l’Université Concordia – Hexagram [CA], de l’Université de La Corogne [SP], de l’Université de Falmouth [UK], de l’Université de Californie, Davis [US], du Commissariat à l’énergie atomique et aux énergies alternatives [FR], du Centre national de la recherche scientifique [FR].

Coordination générale : Samuel Bianchini et Manuelle Freire, avec la collaboration de Alexandra Fortoul, Patricia Ribault et Julie Sauret ; Design graphique et signalétique : Bertrand Sandrez ; Chargée de production : Lucile Vareilles ;
Animation : Filipe Pais ; Ingénierie : Didier Bouchon et Cécile Bucher ; Assistanat : Victoria Gombert.


 

Les modules

1 → Robotique tensègre

La tenségrité est un principe architectural qui signifie « intégration des tensions ». Les ponts à haubans, la tour Eiffel ou la configuration de notre système musculo-squelettique sont des structures qui ploient et qui se déforment en fonction des perturbations et des chocs extérieurs afin de mieux les absorber mais aussi afin de mieux soutenir un poids supérieur à leur propre masse. Nous explorons ce principe pour créer un démonstrateur de robotique légère et flexible, mais robuste et peu coûteuse, dont la coordination des synergies motrices, de l’équilibre postural et des mouvements dynamiques s’inspire du fonctionnement de la colonne vertébrale.
Coordination : Alexandre Pitti – Neurocybernetic Team – ETIS – CNRS 8051, Ensea, Université de Cergy-Pontoise [FR]

2 → Being Collective

Being Collective est un lieu d’expérimentation de nouvelles modalités de communication inter-espèces. Après avoir mis en place un « internet des perruches et des robots » où ces derniers sont capables d’interpréter les états émotionnels des oiseaux à travers leurs chants en dessinant des formes, le groupe tente d’inclure les êtres vivants situés autour du Centre Pompidou. Comment pouvons-nous mettre en relation pigeons et robots ? Une plante est-elle capable d’exprimer ses émotions ? Pouvons-nous imaginer un internet des animaux ? Ce workshop permet d’explorer ces questions.
Coordination : Olivain Porry – EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group et Suricats Consulting [FR]

3 → Apprendre à bouger

La création de comportements autonomes pour des agents robotiques repose généralement sur une programmation directe ou sur l’enregistrement de mouvements prédéterminés. Ce module permet d’explorer le « machine learning » appliqué au développement d’objets à comportements. Grâce à une approche expérimentale et collaborative, les participant·es définissent l’ordre du jour et coordonnent leurs efforts collectivement. Le public peut interagir avec des prototypes capables d’apprendre des comportements par renforcement ou par imitation.
Coordination : Sofian Audry – School of Computing and Information Science, University of Maine [US]

4 → Biomatériaux et Extensions Prothétiques

Le concept de prothèse a considérablement évolué depuis quelques années au gré de la découverte des biomatériaux. Loin de n’être qu’un appareillage additionnel au corps humain, les biomatériaux permettent d’intervenir au cœur même du membre lésé, ou à sa surface, permettant d’envisager un nouveau type de corps augmenté, très différent de la notion d’exosquelette. La question qui nous intéresse ici est la transformation possible du corps humain en vue d’inventer de nouveaux types de performances et d’expériences sensibles, avec le but éventuel d’initier un dialogue physique inter-spécifique par le truchement des biomatériaux et de la robotique.
Coordination : Marion Laval-Jeantet – AOO/Art Orienté Objet

5 → Additive Manufacturing

Intégrer la dynamique de la vie dans des objets inanimés est le nouveau domaine de la fabrication d’additifs. Cet état d’esprit novateur, également appelé « impression 4D », fait appel à des matériaux avancés qui répondent à l’influence de stimuli ou d’énergies externes pour programmer les actions de l’objet imprimé. L’objectif de ce module est de fabriquer/utiliser/expérimenter des polymères mous magnéto-réactifs permettant d’imiter le comportement de la nature. Au cours de ce workshop, des structures planes en 2D en polymères souples magnéto-réactifs sont utilisées via des procédés de pliage et de dépliage en origami et kirigami. La deuxième phase de l’atelier porte sur d’éventuelles applications de l’impression 4D, sur les changements environnementaux réels qui peuvent être utilisés pour animer l’objet 4D et sur la façon dont ces derniers pourraient réagir physiquement.
Coordination : Giancarlo Rizza – École polytechnique [FR] et James Auger – EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR]

6 → Morphostructures: life-like behavior in material systems

Peut-on transposer certaines dimensions structurelles de systèmes vivants sur des systèmes purement mécaniques ? Cette question est étudiée en expérimentant avec un treillis triangulaire automorphe constitué d’une armature de fils métalliques maintenus ensemble par des connecteurs en plastique. Certains fils sont collés sur le connecteur (ils seront passifs), tandis que d’autres fils passent à travers les connecteurs et sont introduits dans la structure (et seront donc actifs). Des moteurs et capteurs attachés au réseau permettent d’explorer l’éventail des mouvements possibles, imitant ou rappelant parfois des comportements typiques des systèmes vivants.
Coordination : Lorenzo Guiducci – Cluster « Matters of Activity » – Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin [DE]

7 → Growth & Paths

De manière individuelle ou combinatoire, la gestion des matériaux d’impression et le contrôle des imprimantes et de leur flux d’information servent de base à des expériences permettant d’explorer le comportement et la production de formes. Nous créons des formes qui tiennent compte de la morphologie des structures naturelles, combinées à des outils informatiques produisant des formes liées aux différents états du matériau durant son processus de production.
Coordination : Antoine Desjardins – EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR] et Ianis Lallemand – Esad TALM – Le Mans et EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR]

8 → Mattering Matter: Invested thought and
Informed growth

Dans ce « wet lab », les participants s’impliquent dans des processus de culture du kombucha et du mycélium par le biais de différentes technologies de détection, afin de tester les modèles de surface et leur capacité de pliage et de repliabilité. Ces activités permettent d’étayer les discussions autour des protocoles et thématiques à développer pour envisager un futur résilient, créatif et éthique. Les scénarios spéculatifs explorés nous permettent de comprendre la pratique imbriquée dans les relations matérielles, sensorielles, technologiques, humaines et discursives nécessaires à la compréhension des questions socio-environnementales contemporaines.
Coordination : Alice Jarry – Concordia University – Hexagram [CA] et Alexandre Castonguay – Université du Québec à Montréal – Hexagram [CA]

9 → The Next Rice

Le riz est la deuxième céréale la plus consommée au monde. En laboratoire, elle est modifiée génétiquement pour faire face au changement climatique, à la croissance démographique et pour répondre aux attentes des consommateurs qui en déterminent la texture, la saveur et la forme. Afin de questionner l’amélioration génétique du riz et l’artificialisation de nos modes de consommation, ce module propose une expérience culinaire participative visant la génération d’un produit alimentaire imprimé en 3D à partir de données sensorielles.
Coordination : Alexia Venot – EnsadLab / Groupe Soft Matter [FR]

10 → Sky, le comportement de la brume

Dans un bassin de 2,5m disposé sur trois tables, une nappe de brume est animée par des formes mobiles et éphémères, fantomatiques et mucilagineuses. Cette substance, à la matérialité incertaine, change de texture et se déplace en réponse aux mouvements autour du bassin, réagissant à la caresse distante d’une main. L’espace que ce comportement déploie dans l’imaginaire est musical plus que chorégraphique, la brume se comportant comme une matière sonore faite de textures et de rythmes. Lors du workshop, différents mouvements, réponses et écritures musicales sont explorés en fonction des informations fournies par différents capteurs de distance, de mouvement ou de chaleur placés à chaque extrémité du canal de brume.
Coordination : Jean Marc Chomaz, École polytechnique / Labofactory – Laurent Karst, ENSA Dijon / Labofactory – Filippo Fabbri, université Paris Sud / Labofactory – Greg Louis, compositeur, ESSS / Labofactory [FR]

11 → Data<>Materia

Si l’on considère la possibilité d’une phénoménologie des données, le module Data Materia permet d’étudier ce que l’action créative et artistique de réification des données apporte à leur réception sensible et perceptive, à leur appréciation cognitive, à leur évaluation ou estimation intellectuelle – plus généralement, à la lumière des différents sujets, à la compréhension des réalités complexes du monde contemporain. Pour ce faire, un certain nombre de « conversions » de données sont traduites sous des formes et des matériaux très divers.
Coordination : David Bihanic, Université Paris 1 et EnsadLab / Reflective Interaction group [FR] et Jiayi Young – Department of Design, University of California, Davis [US]

12 → Structure sous influence

Ce module permet d’explorer plusieurs manières de fabriquer des objets durables en prenant le vivant comme modèle. Il s’agit donc de dépasser l’étude de l’organisme ou de la fonction biologique isolée pour tendre vers une étude complète des interactions d’un organisme avec son milieu. En s’interrogeant sur les cycles de vie de ces différents organismes, nous abordons les questions de croissance, de pérennité ou de dégénérescence de la structure et les impacts de ces notions sur les manières de concevoir et mettre en œuvre un projet.
Coordination : Armand Behar, École nationale supérieure de création industrielle – Les Ateliers [FR]

RADIOBAL → Une radio web pour rendre compte du workshop en temps réel

Associée au workshop Behavioral Matter afin d’en rendre compte en direct, RADIOBAL est une webradio tenue par et pour les étudiants des Beaux-Arts de Paris. Entièrement DIY elle se déploie aisément au gré de projets souvent variés, toujours performés. La radio Beaux-Arts Live est, comme son nom l’indique, orientée « temps réel » et peut servir de véhicule communicationnel idéal pour rendre compte de l’évolution d’un écosystème en construction.
Elle même en constante (dé)construction, elle se prête volontiers à une analyse récursive de sa boucle de rétroaction. Nous en proposons donc une utilisation libre et ouverte à destination du public et des acteurs du workshop Behavioral Matter. Une seule adresse : radiobal.fr
Coordination : Vincent Rioux, École nationale supérieure des
Beaux-Arts de Paris [FR]


Photos : Kiana Hubert-Low et Corentin Laplanche-Tsutsui