From print to animation

Antoine Desjardins, 2019


A research-creation project hosted by Giancarlo Rizza with Antoine Desjardins, Laurent Karst, Simone Leantan.

This project is developed in the framework of a cooperation between the Laboratory of Irradiated Solid of Ecole Polytechnic X and the Reflective Interaction Group of EnsadLab, the laboratory of Ecole nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (EnsAD), PSL University, Paris. This project is supported by La Chaire Arts & Sciences of Ecole Polytechnique, EnsAD РPSL, and the Daniel and Nina Carasso Foundation.

This research-creation project was initiated during “Useful Fictions” a summer workshop organized by University of Californie Davis and The Ecole Polytechnique, in this school on September 2019. The research-creation project “From print to animation” aimed to the manufacture/use/experimentation of articulated surfaces and soft magneto-reactive polymers that have the ability to reproduce natural behaviour. Folding plans and printing of flexible materials with ferrofluid or magnetite charged parts are used to study the movements induced by magnetic fields on familiar shapes borrowed from the organic in registers crossing the plant and the animal.

Bringing the dynamics of life into inanimate objects is the new field emerging from 3D printing technologies. This innovative mindset is also called “4D printing” and uses advanced materials that respond to the influence of external stimuli or energies to program the actions of a printed object. The running of this workshop aims at the manufacture/use/experimentation of articulated surfaces and soft magneto-reactive polymers that have the ability to reproduce natural behaviour.

2D flat structures of magnetite-sensitive articulated rigid materials are used to exploit the folding and unfolding processes of origami and kirigami, 3D printing of flexible materials with ferrofluid or magnetite charged parts is used to study the movements induced by magnetic fields on familiar shapes borrowed from the organic in registers crossing the plant and the animal. The objective of the workshop is to speculate on the possible short-term applications of such materials: what real environmental changes could be used to animate the 4D object and how could it physically react in response?


Credits

Participating graduate fellows: Nathanial Gilchrist, Jean Menezes
Thanks to: Aline Becq, Samuel Bianchini, Jean-Marc Chomaz, Gareth Paterson and Julie Sauret

De l’imprimé à l’animation

Antoine Desjardins
2019

Un projet de recherche-création hébergé par Giancarlo Rizza avec Antoine Desjardins, Laurent Karst et Simone Leantan.

Ce projet est développé dans le cadre d’une coopération entre le Laboratoire des solides irradiés de l’École Polytechnique X et le Groupe Reflective Interaction de l’ensadLab, le laboratoire de l’École nationale supérieure des Arts Décoratifs (EnsAD), Université PSL, Paris. Ce projet est soutenu par la chaire Arts & Sciences de l’École Polytechnique, l’EnsAD-PSL, et la fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso.

Cette proposition de recherche-création a été initiée lors d’un atelier d’été « Useful Fictions » organisé par l’Université de Californie Davis et l’École Polytechnique, dans cette école, en septembre 2019. « De l’imprimé à l’animation » visait à la fabrication/utilisation/expérimentation de surfaces articulées et de polymères doux magnéto-réactifs ayant la capacité de reproduire le comportement naturel. Les plans de pliage et l’impression de matériaux flexibles avec des parties chargées de ferrofluide ou de magnétite sont utilisés pour étudier les mouvements induits par les champs magnétiques sur des formes familières empruntées à l’organique dans des registres traversant la plantes et l’animal.

Participants : Nathanial Gilchrist, Jean Menezes

Remerciements : Aline Becq, Samuel Bianchini, Jean-marc Chomaz, Gareth Paterson, Julie Sauret

Apporter de la vie dans des objets inanimés est le nouveau domaine émergeant des technologies d’impression 3D. Cet état d’esprit innovant est également appelé « impression 4D » et fait appel à des matériaux avancés qui répondent à l’influence de stimuli ou d’énergies externes pour programmer l’action d’un objet imprimé. Ce workshop vise à la fabrication/utilisation/expérimentation de surfaces articulées et de polymères doux magnétoréactifs qui ont la capacité de reproduire le comportement naturel.

Des structures plates 2D en matériaux rigides articulés sensibles à la magnétite sont utilisées pour exploiter les processus de pliage et de dépliage de l’origami et du kirigami. L’impression 3D de matériaux flexibles avec des parties chargées en ferrofluide ou magnétite est employée pour étudier les déplacements induits par des champs magnétiques sur des figures connues empruntées aux formes organiques (plantes, animaux). L’objectif du workshop est de spéculer sur les applications possibles de ces matériaux à court terme : quels changements environnementaux réels pourraient être apportés pour animer l’objet 4D et comment pourrait-il réagir en conséquence ?